The GDPR provides the right to an individual to request to have their personal data deleted when it is no longer required for the purpose for which it was obtained, known as the “right to erasure” or the “right to be forgotten”.
Vodafone have controls in place to ensure that we don’t collect or store personal data that we don’t need in order to provide you with your service. If you decide to cancel your account, we need to keep your personal data for a certain amount of time after cancellation for legitimate business purposes, for example, to allow us to reconcile your account, or to address any queries that you might have after the closure of your account, or because of a legal requirement.
We will automatically delete personal data when we no longer need it for the above reasons.
Because we don’t process any personal data that we don’t need, the right to erasure of personal data may not be applicable to your Vodafone account. However, if you believe that Vodafone may hold any personal data of yours that we don’t need, please let us know by submitting the form below.
Before you submit your request, please note the following:
- If you are a current Vodafone customer and have been receiving unwanted calls, SMS or email from Vodafone, you can change your marketing preferences on My Vodafone, on the App, by calling 1800 200 234, or by contacting customer care. These preferences only apply to marketing messages. You will continue to receive service announcements and / or bill notifications.
Update Account Details
- If you would like to change name or transfer ownership please click here and follow the steps to complete the form
- Please note that account holders or listed account contacts only have authorisation to change names on accounts
- You can update contact information such as postal address, email address or alternate contact number online using My Vodafone or by contacting customer care.
Update Payment Details
- If you are a bill pay customer, payment by direct debit is mandatory under the terms of your contract. The right to erasure does not apply to personal data processed for the purpose of fulfilling a contract. If you want to update your direct debit details (delete your old details and replace them with new details) you can do this online using My Vodafone.
- If your account is closed and final payment has been received, we can deactivate your direct debit, however, we are required to keep records of previous payments that will also contain your payment details.
- If you want to make changes to your account (close the account, etc.) you will need to contact our customer care teams.
- If you have been receiving communications directly from Vodafone, or from one of our collections partners, please contact customer care to discuss any queries you might have.